Life without technology?

Technology is an integral part of our lives. Ever thought about what life would be like without that technology? As I take a moment to ponder the question, “How has my life changed as a result of technology?” it is not difficult to come up with an answer. Technology has become integrated into our daily routines. The first thing I do when I wake up is check my facebook, email, and twitter, which also tends to be the last thing I do before I go to bed. Technology has made it possible for us to be connected at all hours of the day and when we aren’t connected, we feel a void.

Just the other day I misplaced my phone. I never knew how much I relied on my phone until that moment. It was like there was a piece of me that was missing for a few days while I waited for it to show up. We grow so accustomed to the conveniences of technology, that we hardly know how to function without it. Most of us cannot image taking a virtual break. Even if we shut off our phones for a day, never opened up our laptops or turned on the television, our minds would be consumed with thoughts of what we are missing.

My life, like everyone’s,  revolves around technology. Although I can hardly remember the days when technology didn’t dominate my everyday life, its easy to imagine how different life would be without it. Through the use of social media, I can now remain up-to-date not just on my friends lives, but on the news. Prior to social media, I used to have to watch the news or read the paper to keep up with current events. Quickly scanning my twitter page before heading off to class in the morning gives me a good idea of what is going on.

Society is becoming more and more attached to technology. People may view the attachment we have to technology as a bad thing, but at the same time we cannot discount all the advances technology has brought about. Life without technology is possible, but no longer desirable. People need to realize that they have the power to control their use of technology. We don’t have to let technology control us.

Technology has changed the way the world functions. Some people view the change as a good thing, while others think it has gone to an extreme. We can each make that decision for ourselves and decide how much we want to integrate technology in our lives. There is no doubt we could live without it as we once did, but as long as we keep its use to a normal level we might as well enjoy the conveniences technology provides.

Leave a Reply

